Columnists Rozner, Schmich and Moore vying for Dorothy Storck Award

Lourdes Duarte

Prominent columnists for three Chicago area newspapers have been named finalists for the 2019 Dorothy Storck Award, to be presented by the Chicago Journalists Association.

Daily Herald sports columnist Barry Rozner, Chicago Tribune columnist Mary Schmich and Sun-Times freelance columnist Natalie Moore (a reporter for Chicago Public Media WBEZ 91.5-FM) are competing for the honor, which carries a $1,000 prize.

Dorothy Storck

Named for the late syndicated columnist and Pulitzer Prize winner who died in 2015, the award for best news or features column will be presented November 15 at the Chicago Journalists Association’s 80th anniversary awards dinner at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, 151 East Wacker Drive. (Here is the link for tickets.)

Lourdes Duarte, weekday news anchor at Nexstar Media WGN-Channel 9, will emcee the event, which also will include presentation of the annual Sarah Brown Boyden Awards, recognizing journalism excellence in multiple categories covering print, broadcast and digital media.

Offering an “In Memoriam” tribute will be special guest Chaz Hammel-Smith Ebert, CEO of Ebert Digital LLC and widow of the late Sun-Times movie critic Roger Ebert.

Receiving the group’s Lifetime Achievement Award will be Cheryl Burton, news anchor of the top-rated 5 and 10 p.m. weekday newscasts on ABC-owned WLS-Channel 7.

Keynote speaker will be Jim Kirk, publisher and executive editor of Crain’s Chicago Business.