Robservations: Kartemquin Films wins two Peabody Awards

Kartemquin Films

Robservations on the media beat:

Kartemquin Films, the Chicago-based nonprofit collective behind such acclaimed documentaries as “Hoop Dreams” (1994) and “The Interrupters" (2011), was named winner of two Peabody Awards Tuesday. Founded in 1966 by Gordon Quinn and the late Jerry Blumenthal, the collaborative community was cited with an Institutional Award for its "commitment to unflinching documentary filmmaking and telling an American history rooted in social justice and the stories of the marginalized." It also won a Peabody for “Minding the Gap,” the 2018 documentary produced for POV on PBS and Hulu. The 78th annual Peabody Awards, hosted by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, will be presented May 18 in New York.

David Schaper and Cheryl Corley

The Chicago bureau of NPR is on the move. Correspondents David Schaper and Cheryl Corley, who've been working from the Navy Pier headquarters of Chicago Public Media WBEZ 91.5-FM, are relocating to new offices at 150 North Michigan Avenue. They'll be sharing space with National Public Media, which sells underwriting for NPR and PBS. "After 11 years of working out of ⁦@WBEZ⁩’s gorgeous facility on Navy Pier, we’re setting up shop on Michigan Ave with an even better view!" Schaper tweeted. WBEZ offices are being renovated to make room for its rapidly growing staff.

Kristen Kirchhaine

The newest face on the weather front at NBC-owned WMAQ-Channel 5 is meteorologist Kristen Kirchhaine, who’s been filling in periodically on weekends since December. The Michigan native previously worked at WBBH, the NBC affiliate in Fort Myers, Florida; WFFT, the Fox affiliate in Fort Wayne, Indiana; and KULR, the NBC affiliate in Billings, Montana. She also works as a video and social media producer for the National Insurance Crime Bureau in Des Plaines.

Lacy J. Banks

Chicago Bulls legend Bill Cartwright will be on hand to present a 2019 Ring Lardner Award posthumously to Lacy J. Banks, who was a Chicago Sun-Times sportswriter from 1972 until his death in 2012. Also honored Thursday at Union League Club of Chicago will be veteran NBC 5 sportscaster Peggy Kusinski (presented by her son, Jason Kinander) and retired Chicago Tribune and Los Angeles Times sports columnist Mike Downey (presented by Linda Yu). The awards, named for the world famous sportswriter, humorist and satirist, benefit the Union League Boys & Girls Clubs.

Tuesday’s comment of the day: Bob Sullivan: Sears and WLS [Radio], sad they're crashing and burning at the same time.