WGN Walk of Fame adds 10 today

WGN Radio Walk of Fame

WGN Radio Walk of Fame

Ten more broadcasting luminaries from the past and present of WGN AM 720 will be honored Friday with induction in the WGN Radio Walk of Fame.

This year’s honorees are late-night radio legends Eddie Schwartz, Franklyn MacCormack, Steve King and Johnnie Putman, newsmen Steve Bertrand and Lyle Dean, sportscaster Dave Eanet, Cubs broadcaster Ron Santo, host Lou Manfredini and executive Ward Quaal.

All 10 will be enshrined with bronze plaques embedded outside the showcase studio of the Tribune Media news/talk station at 435 North Michigan Avenue.

WGN personalities Steve Cochran and Bob Sirott will host the live broadcast of the induction ceremony from 1 to 2:30 p.m. Friday. The event at Pioneer Court in front of Tribune Tower is open to the public.

Schwartz, MacCormack, Santo and Quaal will be inducted posthumously, with Schwartz represented by his brother, Hal Ross, MacCormack represented by Chicago Tribune columnist and WGN host Rick Kogan, Santo represented by his widow, Vicki, and Quaal represented by WGN agribusiness reporter and 2014 Walk of Famer Orion Samuelson.

The Walk of Fame was established in conjunction with WGN’s 90th anniversary celebration in 2014 to honor the station’s legendary personalities. Previous inductees include Jack Brickhouse, Bob Collins, Pat Hughes, Roy Leonard, Judy Markey, Spike O’Dell, Kathy O’Malley, Wally Phillips, Milt Rosenberg, Quin Ryan and Samuelson.