WGN Radio Walk of Fame adds 10 ‘truly unique voices’

Eddie Schwartz

Eddie Schwartz

Chicago late-night radio legends Eddie Schwartz, Franklyn MacCormack and the husband-and-wife team of Steve King and Johnnie Putman will be among this year’s Walk of Fame honorees at WGN AM 720.

The Tribune Media news/talk station announced 10 more inductees Friday to be enshrined with bronze plaques embedded outside the showcase studio at 435 North Michigan Avenue.

In addition to late-night hosts Schwartz, MacCormack, King and Putman, the latest honorees include newsmen Steve Bertrand and Lyle Dean, sportscaster Dave Eanet, Cubs broadcaster Ron Santo, host Lou Manfredini and executive Ward Quaal. Schwartz, MacCormack, Santo and Quaal will be inducted posthumously.

“This year’s Walk of Fame class pays tribute to a group of truly unique voices,” Todd Manley, vice president of programming and content at WGN, said in a statement. “Each one of them invented or discovered new ways to tell memorable stories.”

The 10 will be honored at a public ceremony to be broadcast live from 1 to 2 p.m. on May 29.

The Walk of Fame was established in conjunction with WGN’s 90th anniversary celebration in 2014 to honor the station’s legendary personalities. Previous inductees include Jack Brickhouse, Bob Collins, Pat Hughes, Roy Leonard, Judy Markey, Spike O’Dell, Kathy O’Malley, Wally Phillips, Milt Rosenberg, Quin Ryan and Orion Samuelson.