Ann Compton named to Illinois Broadcasters’ Hall of Fame

Ann Compton

Ann Compton

Former White House correspondent Ann Compton, who retired in September after more than 40 years with ABC News, has been chosen for induction in the Illinois Broadcasters Association’s Hall of Fame.

A Chicago native and 1965 graduate of New Trier High School in Winnetka, Compton will be honored by the state broadcasters group at a private ceremony December 15 at the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago.

Compton began her career as a reporter for WDBJ-TV, the CBS affiliate in Roanoke, Virginia, and joined ABC News in New York in 1973. The following year she was assigned to the White House, where she covered seven presidents. On her retirement, President Obama said: “Ann Compton, everybody here knows, is not only the consummate professional but is also just a pleasure to get to know,” adding: “I just want to say publicly, Ann, we’re going to miss you, and we’re very, very proud of the extraordinary career and work that you’ve done.”

She also served as president of the White House Correspondents' Association.

“We're excited to add Ann Compton's name to the elite list of other broadcast journalist giants with Illinois ties honored before her," said Dennis Lyle, president and CEO of the Illinois Broadcasters Association. "Ann's list of professional accomplishments is long, and to my knowledge, this will be her third induction into a Hall of Fame. Her career is one certainly worth celebrating, and that is what we plan to do come December 15th."

Compton already is enshrined in the National Radio Hall of Fame and the Society of Professional Journalists’ Journalism Hall of Fame.

As an IBA Hall of Fame honoree, Compton will join a pantheon of broadcast journalism legends such as Dave Garroway, Paul Harvey, Frank Reynolds, Mike Wallace, Harry Smith, Paula Zahn, Bill Kurtis, Orion Samuelson, Chris Bury and Charles Gibson. Other inductees include Oprah Winfrey, Jack Benny, Orson Welles, Joan Rivers, Dick Biondi, Larry Lujack, Don Cornelius and Siskel & Ebert.